17 November 2014

Interactive 2014 World Series Probability Added Chart Reflects Mad Bum's Dominance

Tom Tango calls Win Probability Added the ultimate "story stat." By combining FanGraphs' WPA and my World Series Projections, I aim to depict and uncover the stories of the 2014 World Series in the same way.

We knew that Madison Bumgarner was absolutely dominant. Did you know exactly how dominant he really was? How about how close the Royals actually came to winning it all (either in Game 7 or overall)? What were the most impactful plays of the Series? How much did your favorite player contribute to the San Francisco Giants winning it all?

Check out the answers to these and other questions in the interactive chart below the jump.

10 November 2014

BBA Awards: Final Tally and Winners

Every season, baseball bloggers across the web vote for their choices in the five award categories delineated by the Baseball Bloggers Alliance: the Connie Mack Award for best managers in each league; the Willie Mays Award for the best rookies; the Goose Gossage Award for best relievers; the Walter Johnson Award for best pitchers and the Stan Musial Award for best overall players. Bloggers in each chapter choose their chapter's votes, and then the votes of each chapter are tallied to determine the final winners. These are the results of those votes.

The Connie Mack Award: Buck Showalter (BAL, AL); Clint Hurdle (PIT, NL)
  • AL Runners-up: Ned Yost (KCR), Mike Scioscia (LAA)
  • NL Runners-up: Bruce Bochy (SFG), Matt Williams (WSN)
  • General Chapter's votes: Buck Showalter, Clint Hurdle
  • My votes: Mike Scioscia, Mike Redmond (MIA, NL)
  • My thoughts
    • I don't take this award too seriously, since I don't think we have a good way of determining manager value as of yet.
    • That said, as a saber-minded Washington Nationals fan, it blows my mind that anyone could think Matt Williams was a good manager this year. He batted Bryce Harper sixth for most of the season. I mean, come on...
    • Mike Redmond received no votes. This surprises me.

The Willie Mays Award: Jose Abreu (CHW, AL); Jacob deGrom (NYM, NL)

The Goose Gossage Award: Dellin Betances (NYY, AL); Craig Kimbrel (ATL, NL)
  • AL Runners-up: Wade Davis (KCR), Greg Holland (KCR)
  • NL Runners-up: Aroldis Champman (CIN), Kenley Jansen (LAD)
  • General Chapter's votes: Wade Davis, Craig Kimbrel
  • My votes: Wade Davis, Mark Melancon (PIT, NL)
  • My thoughts
    • Craig Kimbrel led the NL in saves; he trailed Melancon, Tony Watson (PIT, NL) or Aroldis Chapman in everything else. The only reason for Kimbrel to win this year's NL Goose Gossage Award is an antiquated focus on saves or simple inertia (he won the last three years).
    • That Tony Watson recorded 0 votes and Mark Melancon only seven (out of 117) tells me that most bloggers simply missed the great year the Bucs' pen enjoyed.

The Walter Johnson Award: Corey Kluber (CLE, AL); Clayton Kershaw (LAD, NL)

The Stan Musial Award: Mike Trout (LAA, AL); Clayton Kershaw (LAD, NL)